professors | ericsson | scientists | students | admin | photos

Prof. Pamela Cosman - email website
She joined UCSD in July 1995. Previously, she was a Visiting Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering at the University of Minnesota, and a postdoctoral fellow and lecturer with the Information Systems Laboratory at Stanford University. Pamela received her Ph.D. from Stanford in 1993 and her B.S.E.E. from the California Institute of Technology in 1987. At UCSD she is co-director of the Information Coding Laboratory. She received an NSF CAREER Award from 1996 to 1999, and a Powell Faculty Fellowship 1998 to 1999. She was the ECE representative on the Jacobs School's ABET 2000 steering committee. She is the author of over 70 papers and book chapters in the areas of image/video compression, image quality evaluation,and biomedical image processing.

Prof. Rene Cruz - email website
He joined the UCSD faculty in 1987, after receiving his Ph.D. the same year from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC). He received his S.M.E.E. from MIT in 1982 (where he held a Vinton Hayes Fellowship in Communications), and his B.S.E.E. from UIUC in 1980. Cruz was an NSF Graduate Fellow from 1981-86. He received an NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award in 1991. He co-chaired the Technical Program Committee of the 2001 IEEE INFOCOM Conference, which is the annual joint conference of the IEEE Computer and Communication Societies. He was a general chair of the 2001 ACM SIGCOMM Conference, which was held on the UCSD campus. Cruz was elected a Fellow of the IEEE in January 2003.

Prof. Sujit Dey - email website
He joined the UCSD faculty in December 1997. Before joining UCSD, he was a Senior Research Staff Member at the NEC C&C Research Labs in Princeton, NJ, which he joined after receiving his Ph.D. in Computer Science from Duke University in September 1991. At UCSD, he is the director of the Embedded Systems Design, Automation, and Test Laboratory at UCSD. Dey has published over 100 journal and conference papers, and is a co-inventor on 10 U.S. patents. In 1999 and 2000, Dey won Best Paper awards at the Design Automation annual conference, for papers on high-performance communication architectures, and power optimization techniques. Dey has consulted with ST Microelectronics, and NEC USA.

Prof. Ramesh Rao - email website
He joined the UCSD faculty in 1984, after receiving his Ph.D. from the University of Maryland, College Park. Prior to assuming his current post in 2001, he was Director of UCSD's Center for Wireless Communications. Rao is a senior member of IEEE, was publications editor of the IEEE's Information Theory Society., and sits on the society's Board of Governors. He also guest edited the IEEE Journal of Selected Areas in Communications special issue on "Multimedia Network Radios,'' in December 1998. Rao has authored over 100 technical papers and contributed two book chapters, and chaired the technical program of the 1997 International Conference on Universal Personal Communications.

Prof. Geoffrey Voelker - email website
He joined the UCSD faculty in June of 2000. With Jacobs School colleagues Stefan Savage and Keith Marzullo, he runs the Reliable-Adaptive Multi-Path (RAMP) network project. He also leads the PAWNs project, a collaboration with Microsoft Research. He is a member of the Adaptive Systems project with colleagues at UCSD and Ericsson Research. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Washington in 2000.

  ©Copyright 2001-2003 Cal-(IT)2, Adaptive Systems Lab.